Le Prix Donner - Le Prix du meilleur ouvrage sur les politiques publiques rédigé par un auteur canadien.
English
Le jury 2016

Peter Nicholson
Présidente

M. Peter Nicholson, C.M., a occupé de nombreuses fonctions au sein du gouvernement, d’entreprises, dans le domaine de la science et en enseignement supérieur. Il est né à Halifax et a étudié la physique à l’Université Dalhousie, où il a reçu un baccalauréat et une maîtrise. Il a poursuivi ses études pour obtenir un doctorat en recherche opérationnelle de l’Université Stanford et a commencé sa carrière académique en enseignant l’informatique à l’Université du Minnesota. M. Nicholson a été membre de l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse et a été directeur-adjoint du Cabinet pour la politique au bureau du premier ministre. Il a également occupé des postes de cadre supérieur avec la Banque Scotia et la BCE, a été le conseiller spécial au secrétaire général de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques et fut le premier directeur général du Conseil des académies canadiennes. Il partage actuellement son temps entre Annapolis Royal, Nouvelle-Écosse, et Austin, Texas.

Eva Busza

Madame Busza exerce les fonctions de vice-présidente, Recherche et programmes, au sein de la Fondation Asie Pacifique du Canada. Avant de se joindre à la Fondation, elle occupait le poste de directrice de la politique et de la planification stratégique, sous l'autorité de Monsieur Ban Ki-moon, Secrétaire général des Nations Unies. Madame Busza possède plus de 15 années d'expérience professionnelle au sein d'organismes représentant les secteurs public, privé et la société civile, partout dans la région Asie-Pacifique. Elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et d'un doctorat de l'Université Stanford. En plus d'enseigner au sein du département d'administration publique du College of William and Mary, elle a été attachée de recherche auprès de plusieurs universités et établissements, dont l'Université Columbia, l'Université George Washington, le Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, la Brookings Institution et le Center for International Security and Arms Control de l'Université Stanford.

Jean-Marie Dufour

M. Jean-Marie Dufour, O.C. et O.Q., est titulaire de la chaire William Dow et professeur d’économie politique à l’Université McGill, et membre titulaire de l’Econometric Society et de l’American Statistical Association. Il est également titulaire de la bourse de recherche de la Banque du Canada, directeur de l’Atelier canadien d’économétrie, ainsi que chercheur auprès du Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en analyse des organisations (CIRANO) et du Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en économie quantitative (CIREQ). Il a été président de l’Association canadienne d’économique et de la Société canadienne de science économique.

Jennifer A. Jeffs

Mme Jennifer A. Jeffs, une professionnelle de la politique étrangère, est associée de recherche principale pour le projet Creating Digital Opportunity chez Innovation Policy Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs, à l’Université de Toronto, et co-préside le comité éditorial international de l’International Journal, principale revue canadienne sur les politiques internationales. Elle est l’ancienne présidente du Conseil international du Canada (CIC), un institut canadien apolitique des affaires internationales. Elle a également fondé et dirigé le Centro de Estudios y Programas Interamericanos (CEPI), à l’Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México (ITAM), à Mexico, où elle a également enseigné au Département d’études internationales.   

Donald J. Savoie

Donald J. Savoie O.C., O.N.B., F.R.S.C. détient la Chaire de recherche du Canada (catégorie 1) en administration publique et en gouvernance à l’Université de Moncton. Il a publié de nombreux articles dans le domaine de l’administration publique et de la politique publique et ses travaux ont été récompensés par plusieurs prix en Europe, aux États-Unis et au Canada, y compris le prix Donner 2015. Il a reçu sept diplômes honorifiques de plusieurs universités canadiennes, la médaille Vanier (1999), le prix Trudeau (2004) et le prix Killam en sciences sociales (2015). Il a été élu chercheur invité au All Souls College Oxford et a été Senior Fulbright Scholar dans les universités Harvard et Duke. Il a également occupé le poste de Président de l’Association canadienne de science politique.

Ouvrages participants et gagnants des années précédents 2016

Gagnant Du Prix Donner

Brand Command: Canadian Politics and Democracy in the Age of Message Control, book cover

Brand Command: Canadian Politics and Democracy in the Age of Message Control
Alex Marland
(UBC Press)

La recherche du pouvoir politique est de plus en plus stratégique. Brand Command démontre le pouvoir de la marque et du marketing au sein de la démocratie canadienne, en soulignant que les partis politiques et les gouvernements sont régis par les mêmes principes de commercialisation que les grandes entreprises internationales. Alex Marland mentionne que la stratégie de marque nécessite une répétition des messages verbaux, écrits et visuels, tels que prédéterminés par le cercle restreint des chefs de parti, et que ceux-ci ont infiltré la démocratie parlementaire au Canada.

Assister à l’allocution d’acceptation du prix

Seconds Favoris

A Field Guide to Lies Book cover

A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age
Daniel J. Levitin
(Allen Lane Canada, Penguin Random House Canada)

Nous sommes bombardés d’informations au quotidien et il est de plus en plus difficile de séparer la vérité des mensonges digitaux. Comment distinguer la désinformation, les pseudo-faits, les distorsions et les mensonges éhontés de l’information réelle? L’information littéraire suppose de reconnaître la hiérarchie de la qualité des sources d’information et les biais qui dénaturent les informations transmises aux médias, y compris les médias sociaux. A Field Guide to Lies est un guide pratique qui permet de mieux comprendre cette surinformation dans un monde numérique d’expression personnelle et sociale.

A Good Death: Making the Most of Our Final Choices book cover

A Good Death: Making the Most of Our Final Choices
Sandra Martin
(HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.)

La mort dans le monde moderne est devenue un dilemme politique déchirant, qui prend de plus en plus d’importance au sein de notre population vieillissante. A Good Death met en lumière nos peurs de la mort, notre recherche d’un sens à la vie et la crainte d’être emprisonné par une technologie médicale envahissante dans un monde terrifiant ayant abandonné la notion de bien-être pour la prestation de soins à tout pris, peu importe les coûts ou la souffrance des patients et de leur famille. A Good Death pose la question que l’on ne peut éluder : Comment voulons-nous mourir?

L'intégration des services en santé: Une approche populationnelle couverture de livre

L'intégration des services en santé: Une approche populationnelle
Yves Couturier, Lucie Bonin & Louise Belzile
(Les Presses de l'Université de Montréal)

Dans les pays plus développés, nous sommes à la recherche de solutions novatrices afin de mieux répondre aux besoins individuels en matière de services sociaux et de soins de santé. Les auteurs affirment que nous devons passer à un système « intégré » axé sur l’importance des besoins du patient plutôt que ceux de la société et des programmes de soins de santé. L'intégration des services en santé présente des renseignements inestimables sur les modèles conceptuels internationaux à la fine pointe de l’innovation, confirmant que la santé et le bien-être sont au centre des préoccupations des politiques publiques courantes sur la santé et que nous sommes tous responsables de celles-ci – et non seulement les soignants.

Priests of Prosperity: How Central Bankers Transformed the Postcommunist World book cover

Priests of Prosperity: How Central Bankers Transformed the Postcommunist World
Juliet Johnson
(Cornell University Press)

Priests of Prosperity est une étude analytique de l’évolution de la banque centrale dans les pays postcommunistes qui se penche sur la révolution méconnue qui s’opère pour passer d’une économie dirigée par des vaches à lait à une économie axée sur les gardiens monétaires à l’occidentale. Priests of Prosperity affirme que la communauté des puissants dirigeants de la banque centrale transnationale d’Europe de l’Ouest et d’Amérique du Nord a recruté des banquiers postcommunistes dans le but de modifier leur rôle au sein de la banque centrale et de les aider à élaborer les outils de la banque moderne.

Gagnants des années précédents

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999

1998

Alex Marland est un éminent chercheur en communication et marketing politique au Canada, et professeur agrégé en sciences politiques et de vice-doyen des arts à la Memorial University of Newfoundland.

click to watch the marland video

Daniel J. Levitin est professeur (James McGill) de psychologie et de neurosciences à l’Université McGill, et l’auteur de This is your Brain on Music, The World in Six Songs and The Organized Mind.

click to watch the Levitin video

Sandra Martin, journaliste primée et animatrice de radio et télé, rédige la chronique The Long Goodbye dans The Globe and Mail. Parmi ses ouvrages précédents, on peut citer : Working the Dead Beat: 50 Lives that Changed Canada et The First Man in My Life: Daughters Write about Their Fathers.

click to watch the martin video

Yves Couturier est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les pratiques professionnelles d’intégration des services en gérontologie à l’Université de Sherbrooke.

Lucie Bonin est spécialisée dans le domaine des services de santé publique et de médecine préventive, et reconnue en tant que pionnière en matière d’intégration des services et de sensibilisation de la population.

Louise Belzile est travailleuse sociale dont les activités portent sur la normalisation des outils cliniques multidimensionnels dans un contexte d’intégration des services pour les aînés en perte d’autonomie fonctionnelle.

click to watch the Coutrier Bonin Belzile video

Juliet Johnson est professeure de sciences politiques à l’Université McGill et l’auteure de A Fistful of Rubles: The Rise and Fall of the Russian Banking System.

click to watch the johnson video

The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy
Francais
Jury 2016

Peter Nicholson
Chair

Dr. Peter Nicholson O.C. has been named this year’s jury Chair. He has served in numerous posts in government, business, science, and higher education. His public service career included positions as Deputy Chief of Staff for Policy in the Office of the Prime Minister of Canada; as a member of the Nova Scotia Legislature; as Clifford Clark Visiting Economist in Finance Canada; and as Special Advisor to the Secretary-general of the OECD in Paris. He was also an original member of the Canadian Prime Minister’s National Advisory Board on Science and Technology, the founding Chair of the Board of the Fields Institute for Research in Mathematical Sciences and was the founding Chair of the Members of the Canada Foundation for Innovation.

Eva Busza

Dr. Eva Busza is Vice-President, Research and Programs, at the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada. Prior to joining the foundation, she was Director of Policy and Strategic Planning for UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon. Ms. Busza holds a Ph.D. from Stanford University and a Master's degree from the University of British Columbia. In addition to teaching in the Department of Government at the College of William and Mary, she has been a research fellow at several universities and institutes including: Columbia University, George Washington University, and the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.

Jean-Marie Dufour

Jean-Marie Dufour, O.C. and O.Q is the William Dow Professor of Political Economy at McGill University and a Bank of Canada research Fellow. He is also Director of the Canadian Econometric Study Group, a Member of Governing Council of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (June 2013), and Research Fellow at the Center for Interuniversity Research and Analysis on Organizations (CIRANO) and the Center for Interuniveristy Research on Quantitative Economics (CIREQ). Dr. Dufour has served as President of the Canadian Economics Association and the Société canadienne de science économique.

Dr. Jennifer A. Jeffs

Dr. Jennifer A. Jeffs, a foreign policy professional, is a Senior Research Associate at Innovation Policy Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto and currently co-chairs the international editorial board of International Journal, Canada’s premier global policy journal. Dr Jeffs is the former President of the Canadian International Council (CIC), Canada’s independent, non-partisan, international affairs institute and Founding Director of the Centro de Estudios y Programas Interamericanos (CEPI), based at the Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México (ITAM) in Mexico City, where she was also a professor in the Department of International Studies.

Donald J. Savoie

Donald J. Savoie, O.C., O.N.B., F.R.S.C. holds the Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Public Administration and Governance at the Université de Moncton. He has published extensively on public administration and public policy and his work has won prizes in Europe, the United States and Canada, including the 2015 Donner Prize. He has been awarded seven honorary degrees from Canadian universities, the Vanier Medal (1999), the Trudeau Prize (2004) and the Killam Prize in Social Sciences (2015). He was elected a Visiting Fellow at All Souls College Oxford and was a Senior Fulbright Scholar at Harvard and Duke Universities. He has also served as President of the Canadian Political Science Association.

Past Winners 2016

Winner

Brand Command: Canadian Politics and Democracy in the Age of Message Control
Alex Marland
(UBC Press)

The pursuit of political power is strategic as never before. Brand Command demonstrates the power of branding and marketing in Canada’s democracy, arguing that political parties and governments are beholden to the same marketing principles used by the world’s largest corporations. Marland asserts that branding demands repetition of spoken, written and visual messages, predetermined by the leader’s inner circles and has penetrated parliamentary democracy in Canada.

Watch the Acceptance Speech

Runners-Up

"A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age"
Daniel J. Levitin
(Allen Lane Canada, Penguin Random House Canada)

We are bombarded with information each day, and it's becoming harder to separate the wheat from the digital chaff. How do we distinguish misinformation, pseudo-facts, distortions and outright lies from reliable information? Infoliteracy means understanding that there are hierarchies of source quality and bias that distort our information feeds via every media channel, including social media. This book is a compelling guide to better understand our information overload in the digital age of profuse personal and social expression.

A Good Death: Making the Most of Our Final Choices
Sandra Martin
(HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.)

Modern death has become a wrenching political dilemma, one that grows more pressing as the population ages. A Good Death confronts our fears about dying, our struggle for meaning, and our dread of being trapped by voracious medical technology in a nightmare world that has abandoned caring in pursuit of curing, no matter the cost or the suffering to patients and their families. A Good Death asks the tough question none of us can avoid: How do we want to die?

L'intégration des services en santé: Une approche populationnelle
Yves Couturier, Lucie Bonin & Louise Belzile
(Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal)

Throughout advanced countries, innovative solutions are being sought to better meet the needs of individuals for social services and health care. The authors argue we should move toward an “integrated” system based on emphasizing the needs of patients rather than the requirements of the social and health systems. This book brings together valuable information at the cutting edge of international conceptual models, arguing that health and well-being are common public policy concerns, and are the responsibility of everyone – not just caregivers.

Preists of Prosperity: How Central Bankers Transformed the Postcommunist World
Juliet Johnson
(Cornell University Press)

Priests of Prosperity is an analytical study of the evolution of central banking in postcommunist countries, exploring the unsung revolutionary campaign to move from command-economy cash cows into Western-style monetary guardians. This book argues that a powerful transnational central banking community concentrated in Western Europe and North America integrated postcommunist bankers to shape their ideas about the role of central banks and to help them develop modern tools of banking.

Past Winners

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999

1998

Alex Marland is a leading researcher of political communication and marketing in Canada, and an Associate Professor of Political Science and an Associate Dean of Arts at Memorial University of Newfoundland.

click to watch the marland video

Daniel J. Levitin is the James McGill Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience at McGill University, and the author of This is your Brain on Music, The World in Six Songs and The Organized Mind.

click to watch the Levitin video

Sandra Martin, an award-winning journalist and broadcaster, writes the Long Goodbye column for The Globe and Mail. Her previous books include Working the Dead Beat: 50 Lives that Changed Canada and The First Man in My Life: Daughters Write about Their Fathers.

click to watch the martin video

Yves Couturier holds the Canada Research Chair in Professional Practice for the Integration of Gerontology Services at the Université de Sherbrooke.

Lucie Bonin is a specialist in public health and preventive medicine and is a recognized innovator in service integration and population outreach.

Louise Belzile is a social worker whose work focuses on the use of standardized multi-dimensional clinical tools in the context of integrating services for seniors with loss of functional autonomy.

click to watch the Coutrier Bonin Belzile video

Juliet Johnson is Professor of Political Science at McGill University and the author of A Fistful of Rubles: The Rise and Fall of the Russian Banking System.

click to watch the johnson video