The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy

For further information

Sherry Naylor, Prize Manager
The Donner Prize
505 Danforth Avenue, Suite 201
Toronto, ON M4K 1P5

(416) 368 8253



TORONTO, NOVEMBER 3, 2016 — Ken Whyte, Chair of the Board of the Donner Canadian Foundation, today announced the official Call for Submissions for the nineteenth annual Donner Prize, the award for the best public policy book by a Canadian. The winner will receive $50,000, and the other shortlisted titles will each receive $7,500. The prize encourages and celebrates excellence in public policy writing by Canadians, on topics of great significance to Canadians. “Last year saw the highest number of submissions received in the history of the prize,” said Whyte. “We look forward in anticipation to receiving this year’s titles.”

Mr. Whyte also announced this year’s new prize Chair and jury, who are tasked with selecting the shortlist and the eventual winner of the Donner Prize. “It is my pleasure to see the return of two of last year’s distinguished jurors, as well as to welcome David A. Dodge O.C. as our new Chair, and Dr. Peter Nicholson and Dr. Eva Busza as jurors. Returning to the jury are Jean-Marie Dufour, William Dow Professor of Economics at McGill University, and Jennifer Jeffs, Senior Research Associate at Innovation Policy Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto.

David A. Dodge, O.C. has been named this year’s jury Chair. A former Governor of the Bank of Canada from 2001 to 2008, and Chancellor of Queen’s University, David Dodge is currently Senior Advisor at Bennett Jones LLP. During his distinguished career Mr. Dodge has been Deputy Minister of Finance, Deputy Minister of Health and a member of the Bank of Canada’s Board of Directors.

Dr. Peter Nicholson, O.C. has served in numerous posts in government, business, science, and higher education. His public service career included positions as Deputy Chief of Staff for Policy in the Office of the Prime Minister of Canada, a member of the Nova Scotia Legislature, Clifford Clark Visiting Economist in Finance Canada; and Special Advisor to the Secretary-general of the OECD in Paris.

Dr. Eva Busza is Vice-President, Research and Programs, at the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada. Prior to joining the foundation, she was Director of Policy and Strategic Planning for UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon. Ms. Busza holds a Ph.D. from Stanford University and a Master's degree from the University of British Columbia.

The Donner Canadian Foundation, one of Canada’s largest foundations, created the prize to honour the best public policy thinking, writing and research by a Canadian, and the role it plays in determining the well-being of Canadians. In giving this annual award, the Foundation seeks to encourage an open exchange of ideas, broaden policy debate, and increase general awareness of the importance of policy discourse. The 2015 prize went to Donald J. Savoie for What Is Government Good At?: A Canadian Answer.

“Every year the Donner Prize speaks to the importance of research on public policy. I consider it an important highlight of my career to have won the 2015 Donner Prize,” said Savoie.

Philip Cercone Executive Director and Editor at McGill-Queen’s University Press, publisher of the winning book, said, “It is an honour to have won for a fourth time the Donner Prize. In its distinguished eighteen-year history, the prize has become one of the world’s most eagerly awaited announcements and prestigious awards. We know from experience that, subsequent to the awarding of the prize, the books have gone on to have far reaching impact.”

The deadline for submissions for this year’s prize is November 30, 2016. The shortlist will be announced in Spring 2017, and the winner will be proclaimed at a gala dinner in Toronto in April 2017. See for complete rules regarding eligibility and submission procedures.

For further information, please contact:
Sherry Naylor, Prize Manager
Phone: 416 368 8253