Le Prix Donner - Le Prix du meilleur ouvrage sur les politiques publiques rédigé par un auteur canadien.
English
 

Le jury

David A. Dodge

David A. Dodge, Président

M. David A. Dodge, O.C., F.R.S.C. est le président du jury de cette année. Ancien gouverneur de la Banque du Canada de 2001 à 2008 et chancelier de l’Université Queen’s de 2008 à 2015, David Dodge est actuellement conseiller principal à la firme d’avocats Bennett Jones LLP, président du Conseil national de l’Institut C.D. Howe, et membre du comité de l’ICRA. Au cours de sa carrière gouvernementale, le Dr Dodge a été sous-ministre des Finances du G7 et sous-ministre de la Santé. Lors de sa carrière académique, il a enseigné l’économie à l’Université Queen’s; à la School of Advanced International Studies de l’Université Johns Hopkins; à la Faculté de commerce de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique; et à l’Université Simon Fraser.



Eva Busza

Eva Busza

Mme Eva Busza est vice-présidente, recherche et programmes, de la Fondation Asie Pacifique du Canada. Avant d’entrer au service de la Fondation, elle était directrice des politiques et de la planification stratégique de M. Ban Ki-Moon, Secrétaire général des Nations Unies. Elle possède 15 ans d’expérience au sein du gouvernement, d’entreprises et de la société civile de toute la région Asie Pacifique. La Dre Busza est titulaire d’un doctorat de l’Université Standford et d’une maîtrise de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle a été chargée de recherche dans de nombreux instituts et universités, y compris : les Universités Columbia et George Washington, le Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, la Brookings Institution, et le Centre pour la sécurité internationale et le contrôle des armes à l’Université Stanford.



Jean-Marie Dufour

Jean-Marie Dufour

M. Jean-Marie Dufour, O.C. et O.Q., est titulaire de la chaire William Dow et professeur d’économie politique à l’Université McGill, et membre titulaire de l’Econometric Society et de l’American Statistical Association, de l’Association canadienne d’économique (CEA), et de la Société royale du Canada. Il est également directeur de l’Atelier canadien d’économétrie, ainsi que chercheur auprès du Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en analyse des organisations (CIRANO) et du Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en économie quantitative (CIREQ). Le Dr Dufour a été président de l’Association canadienne d’économique et de la Société canadienne de science économique (SCSE). Durant sa carrière universitaire, il a été titulaire d’une bourse de recherche de la Banque du Canada, d’une chaire de recherche du Canada (Économétrique, Université de Montréal), de la chaire d’excellence Pierre-de-Fermat (École d’économie de Toulouse), de la chaire d’excellence Banco Santander (Université Carlos III de Madrid), et a reçu de nombreux prix, y compris les Prix Killam et Léon-Gérin pour les Sciences sociales, le prix John Rae (CEA), le prix Marcel-Dagenais (SCSE), une bourse Guggenheim, et la bourse de recherche Konrad Adenauer (Fondation Alexander von Humboldt, Allemagne).



Jennifer A. Jeffs

Jennifer A. Jeffs

Mme Jennifer A. Jeffs, une spécialiste de la politique étrangère, est associée de recherche principale pour le projet Creating Digital Opportunity chez Innovation Policy Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs, à l’Université de Toronto, et copréside le comité éditorial international de l’International Journal, principale revue canadienne sur les politiques internationales. La Dre Jeffs est l’ancienne présidente du Conseil international du Canada (CIC), un institut canadien apolitique des affaires internationales. Elle a également fondé et dirigé le Centro de Estudios y Programas Interamericanos (CEPI), à l’Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México (ITAM), à Mexico, où elle a également enseigné au Département d’études internationales.



Peter Nicholson

Peter Nicholson

M. Peter Nicholson, O.C., a occupé de nombreuses fonctions au sein du gouvernement, d’entreprises, dans le domaine de la science et de l’enseignement supérieur. Il est né à Halifax et a étudié la physique à l’Université Dalhousie, où il a reçu un baccalauréat et une maîtrise. Il a poursuivi ses études pour obtenir un doctorat en recherche opérationnelle à l’Université Stanford et a commencé sa carrière universitaire par l’enseignement de l’informatique à l’Université du Minnesota. Le Dr Nicholson a été membre de l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse et chef de cabinet adjoint aux politiques au Cabinet du premier ministre. Il a également occupé des postes de cadre supérieur auprès de la Banque Scotia et de la BCE, a été le conseiller spécial du secrétaire général de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques et fut le premier directeur général du Conseil des académies canadiennes. Il partage actuellement son temps entre Annapolis Royal, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et Austin, au Texas.

The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy
Francais
 

The Jury

David A. Dodge

David A. Dodge, Chair

David A. Dodge, O.C., F.R.S.C., has been named this year’s jury Chair. A former Governor of the Bank of Canada from 2001 to 2008 and Chancellor of Queen’s University from 2008 to 2015, David Dodge is currently Senior Advisor at Bennett Jones LLP, chair of the National Council of the C.D. Howe Institute, and member of the boards of CIFAR and CCA. During his government career, Dr. Dodge has been the G7 Deputy Minister of Finance and Deputy Minister of Health. During his academic career, he taught economics at Queen's University; at the School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University; at the Faculty of Commerce at the University of British Columbia; and at Simon Fraser University.



Jean-Marie Dufour

Jean-Marie Dufour

Jean-Marie Dufour, O.C., O.Q., is the William Dow Professor of Political Economy at McGill University, and Fellow of the Econometric Society, the American Statistical Association, the International Association for Applied Econometrics, the Canadian Economics Association (CEA), and the Royal Society of Canada. He is also the Director of the Canadian Econometric Study Group, and Research Fellow at CIRANO and CIREQ. Dr. Dufour has served as President of the CEA and the Société canadienne de science économique (SCSE). During his academic career, he has also held a Bank of Canada Research Fellowship, a Canada Research Chair (Econometrics, Université de Montréal), the Pierre-de-Fermat Chair of Excellence (Toulouse School of Economics), the Banco Santander Chair of Excellence (Universitad Carlos III de Madrid), and has received numerous prizes, including the Killam and Léon-Gérin Prizes for Social Sciences, the John Rae Prize (CEA), the Marcel-Dagenais Prize (SCSE), a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Konrad Adenauer Research Award (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany).



Brenda Eaton

Brenda Eaton

Brenda Eaton is a director serving on corporate, not-for-profit, private and crown corporation boards. Currently Transelec Chair, she is also a member of the Boards of FortisBC, Westland Insurance, Technical Safety BC and the Core Area sewage treatment project board. Prior to becoming a corporate director, Ms. Eaton was Deputy Minister to the Premier of British Columbia, as well as Deputy Minister of Finance and Treasury Board; Energy and Mines; and Social Services. For several years she was Chief Financial Officer at a Health Authority. Ms. Eaton is also active in the not-for-profit sector including Alzheimer’s Society of B.C., Vancouver Foundation, Triathlon Canada and Max Bell Foundation. Ms. Eaton has a Master’s Degree in Economics. She has received several recognition awards including the Queen’s Jubilee Award for community contribution, University of Victoria’s Distinguished Alumni and WXN’s 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada.



Jennifer A. Jeffs

Jennifer A. Jeffs

Jennifer A. Jeffs, a foreign policy professional, is a Senior Research Associate with the Creating Digital Opportunity Project at Innovation Policy Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto and co-chairs the international editorial board of International Journal, Canada’s premier global policy journal. Dr. Jeffs is the former President of the Canadian International Council (CIC), Canada’s independent, non-partisan, international affairs institute and Founding Director of the Centro de Estudios y Programas Interamericanos (CEPI), based at the Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México (ITAM) in Mexico City, where she was also a professor in the Department of International Studies.



Peter Nicholson

Peter Nicholson

Peter Nicholson, O.C., has served in numerous posts in government, business, science and higher education. He was born in Halifax and studied physics at Dalhousie University, where he received bachelor’s and master’s degrees. He went on to get a Ph.D. in operations research at Stanford University and began his academic career by teaching computer science at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Nicholson was a member of the Nova Scotia Legislature and has served as Deputy Chief of Staff for Policy in the Office of the Prime Minister. He has also held senior executive positions with Scotiabank and BCE, was the Special Advisor to the Secretary-General of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development and was the inaugural Chief Executive Officer of the Council of Canadian Academies. He currently splits his time between the Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, and Austin, Texas.