The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy

For further information

Sherry Naylor, Prize Manager
The Donner Prize
505 Danforth Avenue, Suite 201
Toronto, ON M4K 1P5

(416) 368 8253



Five books on diverse policy issues compete for $50,000 prize

Toronto. April 2, 2014 – The five books vying for the 2013/2014 Donner Prize, the award for best public policy book by a Canadian, were announced today by Allan Gotlieb, Chairman of the Donner Canadian Foundation.

"These five finalists deserve recognition for the significant contributions and compelling recommendations they make regarding some of Canada's major policy challenges," said Mr. Gotlieb.

"This year's nominated titles highlight diverse and timely policy issues," said Jury Chair A. Anne McLellan. She went on to say, "From a dissection of the Canadian pension system to an analysis of youth cultural production, from issues of sovereignty and security in the Arctic, to a criticism of the administrative justice system, to the revolution in television brought about by digital technology, these titles deliver fresh insights and bold recommendations to current public policy challenges."

The prestigious Donner Prize, established in 1998, annually rewards excellence and innovation in public policy writing by Canadians. In bestowing this award, the Donner Canadian Foundation seeks to broaden policy debates, increase general awareness of the importance of policy decision making, and make an original and meaningful contribution to policy discourse. The 2013/2014 shortlist titles were chosen from a field of 80 submissions; the winner receives $50,000 while each other nominated title will receive $7,500.

The winner of this year's Donner Prize will be announced at an awards ceremony in Toronto on Wednesday, April 30, 2014. The ceremony will be hosted by Don Newman, Chairman, Canada 2020.

The 2013/2014 Donner Prize finalists are:

  • International Law and the Arctic by Michael Byers (Cambridge University Press)
  • Out of the Basement: Youth Cultural Production in Practice and in Policy by Miranda Campbell (McGill-Queen's University Press)
  • Unjust by Design: Canada's Administrative Justice System by Ron Ellis (UBC Press)
  • The Third Rail: Confronting Our Pension Failures by Jim Leech and Jacquie McNish (Signal)
  • Shut Off: The Canadian Digital Television Transition by Gregory Taylor (McGill-Queen's University Press)

For further information, please contact:
Sherry Naylor, Prize Manager
Phone: 416 368 8253