The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy

For further information

Sherry Naylor, Prize Manager
The Donner Prize
505 Danforth Avenue, Suite 201
Toronto, ON M4K 1P5

(416) 368 8253



TORONTO, SEPTEMBER 24, 2014 – Allan Gotlieb, Chairman of the Donner Canadian Foundation, today announced the official Call for Submissions for the seventeenth annual Donner Prize, the award for best book on public policy by a Canadian. The winner will receive $50,000, and each shortlisted title will receive $7,500. The prize encourages and celebrates excellence in public policy writing by Canadians, on topics of great importance to Canadians. “We look forward to seeing all the great policy writing produced by Canadians in 2014,” said Gotlieb.

The Donner Canadian Foundation, one of Canada’s largest foundations, created the prize to encourage increased research on public policy in Canada and to promote the discussion of policy issues in the public arena. In giving this annual award, the Foundation seeks not only to broaden policy debate, but also increase general awareness of the importance of policy discourse. The 2013 prize went to Michael Byers for International Law and the Arctic.

“The Donner Prize is more than an award. It is proof that public policy research, analysis, and debate still matter in Canada. Being included among its recipients was, for me, both an honour and a vindication,” said Byers.

Books submitted for the 2014 prize should focus on public policy issues – regional, national, or international – that have clear implications and relevance for Canada, for example: regulatory and legal reform, public finance, the environment, urban affairs, health care, and education reform. Submissions must be written by Canadian citizens, but they may be published by non-Canadian publishing houses, so long as the books have implications for Canada. For the 2014 prize, books that are written by Canadians in either English or French, between January 1, and December 31, 2014, are eligible. See for complete rules regarding eligibility and submission procedures.

The $50,000 Donner Prize for 2013 was awarded to International Law and the Arctic by Michael Byers (Cambridge University Press). The $7,500 shortlisted titles were: Out of the Basement: Youth Cultural Production in Practice and in Policy by Miranda Campbell (McGill-Queen’s University Press); Unjust by Design: Canada’s Administrative Justice System by Ron Ellis (UBC Press); The Third Rail: Confronting Our Pension Failures by Jim Leech and Jacquie McNish (Signal); and Shut Off: The Canadian Digital Television Transition by Gregory Taylor (McGill-Queen’s University Press).

The deadline for submissions for this year’s prize is November 30, 2014. The shortlist will be announced in late March 2015, and the winner will be proclaimed at a gala dinner in Toronto on April 29, 2015.

For further information, please contact:
Sherry Naylor, Prize Manager
Phone: 416 368 8253