The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy

For further information

Sherry Naylor, Prize Manager
The Donner Prize
505 Danforth Avenue, Suite 201
Toronto, ON M4K 1P5

(416) 368 8253



Four books on diverse policy issues compete for $50,000 prize

TORONTO April 8, 2015 – The four books vying for the 2014/2015 Donner Prize, the award for best public policy book by a Canadian, were announced today by Allan Gotlieb, Chairman of the Donner Canadian Foundation.

“These four finalists deserve recognition for the invaluable contribution they make to the discussion around some of Canada’s most pressing policy challenges,” said Mr. Gotlieb.

“This year’s nominated titles illuminate key policy issues,” said Jury Chair A. Anne McLellan. She went on to say, “All four finalists took on problems with serious implications for our future as a country and as a society: the complete reform of the Quebec economic system; the importance of transition costs in implementing public policy changes; the deterioration of rational thought in politics and public policy decision-making and the future, prosperity and influence of Canada in a rapidly changing geopolitical landscape.”

The prestigious Donner Prize, established in 1998, annually rewards excellence and innovation in public policy writing by Canadians. In bestowing this award, the Donner Canadian Foundation seeks to broaden policy debates, increase general awareness of the importance of policy decision making and make an original and meaningful contribution to policy discourse. The 2014/2015 shortlist titles were chosen from a field of 75 submissions; the winner receives $50,000 while each other nominated title receives $7,500.

The winner of this year’s Donner Prize will be announced at an awards ceremony in Toronto on Wednesday, April 29, 2015. The ceremony will be hosted by Jeffrey Simpson, columnist for The Globe and Mail.

The 2014/2015 Donner Prize finalists are:

  • Réinventer le Québec: Douze chantiers à entreprendre by Marcel Boyer and Nathalie Elgrably-Lévy (Éditions Stanké)
  • Brave New Canada: Meeting the Challenge of a Changing World by Derek H. Burney and Fen Osler Hampson (McGill-Queen’s University Press)
  • Enlightenment 2.0: Restoring Sanity to Our Politics, Our Economy, and Our Lives by Joseph Heath (HarperCollins)
  • Dealing With Losers: The Political Economy of Policy Transitions by Michael J. Trebilcock (Oxford University Press)

Shortlisted authors are available for comment and interview.
For further information, please contact:
Sherry Naylor, Prize Manager
Phone: 416 368 8253