The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy

For further information

Sherry Naylor, Prize Manager
The Donner Prize
505 Danforth Avenue, Suite 201
Toronto, ON M4K 1P5

(416) 368 8253



Toronto, September 2, 2015 – Allan Gotlieb, Chairman of the Donner Canadian Foundation, today announced the official Call for Submissions for the eighteenth annual Donner Prize, the award for the best public policy book by a Canadian. The winner will receive $50,000, and the other shortlisted titles will each receive $7,500. The prize encourages and celebrates excellence in public policy writing by Canadians, on topics of great importance to Canadians. “We look forward to seeing all the great policy writing produced by Canadians in 2015,” said Gotlieb.

The Donner Canadian Foundation, one of Canada’s largest foundations, created the prize to encourage increased research on public policy in Canada and to promote the discussion of policy issues in the public arena. In giving this annual award, the Foundation seeks not only to broaden policy debate, but also increase general awareness of the importance of policy discourse. The 2014 prize went to Michael J. Trebilcock for Dealing With Losers: The Political Economy of Policy Transitions.

“Winning the Donner Prize for 2014 was probably the high point of my career and hopefully will encourage other Canadian scholars to focus on contemporary public policy issues, knowing that such work has an appreciative audience,” said Trebilcock.

Alex Flach, Senior Editor at Oxford University Press, publisher of the winning book, said, “We are delighted that Michael Trebilcock’s work has been awarded the prestigious Donner Prize, which over the years has become a recognized hallmark of innovative and informed public policy thinking. It is an honor for OUP to have one of our publications awarded the prize for the first time.”

Books submitted for the 2015 prize should focus on public policy issues – regional, national, or international – that have clear implications and relevance for Canada, for example: regulatory and legal reform, public finance, the environment, urban affairs, health care, and education reform. Submissions must be written by Canadian citizens, but they may be published by non-Canadian publishing houses, so long as the books have implications for Canada. For the 2015 prize, books that are written by Canadians in either English or French, between January 1, and December 31, 2015, are eligible. See for complete rules regarding eligibility and submission procedures.

The $50,000 Donner Prize for 2014 was awarded to Dealing With Losers: The Political Economy of Policy Transitions by Michael J. Trebilcock (Oxford University Press). The $7,500 shortlisted titles were Réinventer le Québec: Douze chantiers à entreprendre by Marcel Boyer and Nathalie Elgrably-Lévy (Éditions Stanké); Brave New Canada: Meeting the Challenge of a Changing World by Derek H. Burney and Fen Osler Hampson (McGill-Queen’s University Press); and Enlightenment 2.0: Restoring Sanity to Our Politics, Our Economy, and Our Lives by Joseph Heath (Harper Collins).

The deadline for submissions for this year’s prize is November 30, 2015. The shortlist will be announced in late March 2016, and the winner will be proclaimed at a gala dinner in Toronto on April 27, 2016.

For further information, please contact:
Sherry Naylor, Prize Manager
Phone: 416 368 8253